Why I love Seward, Part 1

I’ve been thinking this week about why I love this neighborhood. It started on Monday, as I was making my usual return trip from dropping my son off at childcare – to and from Powderhorn Park via the Midtown Greenway (Reason #1).

I bike the same route to pick him up in the evening. Sometimes we ride to the playground and wading pool in Brackett Park (Reason #2) before going home.

Looking at the businesses along the Greenway, it’s amazing to think about how many businesses in Seward still make things (Reason #3), especially since the trend in the country is away from making things and toward services. I’m especially impressed by Dero http://www.dero.com/

Recently David Byrne, of the Talking Heads, wrote about their system for crediting employees for biking to work. http://journal.davidbyrne.com/2010/06/061910-report-from-the-heartland.html

I also just read an old but wonderful piece from Twin Cities Business about Orfield Labs (I always wondered about that building across 25th from Matthews Park). http://www.tcbmag.com/industriestrends/technology/104458p1.aspx

I’ve thought of many more reasons why I love Seward, but I’ll save them for future posts.

Becca

Leave a Reply

